Skip to content

Illinois Genealogy Library and Resources

๐Ÿ  ยป Genealogy ยป Library

1818 Illinois map, Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division


Statehood: 3 Dec 1818
21st state of the United States

Bordering states:
North: Wisconsin
South: Kentucky
East: Indiana
West: Iowa, Missouri 

Capital: Springfield

Largest city: Chicago

Map: Illinois, 1818
(click map to enlarge)
Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division

Counties: Original counties as listed in the 1818 Illinois Constitution, Schedule, no. 8: Bond, Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Jackson, Johnson, Madison, Monroe, Pope, Randolph, St. Clair, Union, Washington, and White. Illinois County Creation Dates and Parent Counties. Counties in 2020: 102.