Skip to content

DeWitt County, Illinois Genealogy Library and Resources

🏠 » Genealogy » Library » Illinois

DeWitt County

DeWitt County was formed 1 March 1839 from Macon and McLean counties.

Communities: Barnett, Clinton, Clintonia, Creek, DeWitt, Farmer City, Harp, Kenney, Nixon, Rutledge, Santa Anna, Texas, Tunbridge, Wapella, Waynesville, Weldon, Wilson

Map: De Witt County map, 1894; Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division

Virtual Libraries

The Biographical Record of DeWitt County, Illinois (Chicago : S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901)

History of De Witt cCounty, Illinois (Philadelphia : W. R. Brink and Co., 1882)

DeWitt County, Illinois History Military Records

Institutions, Societies, and Government Websites

Dewitt County Genealogical Society

Vespasian Warner Library,
Clinton, Illinois


Plat book of De Witt County, Illinois
(Library of Congress)

Probate Records

Record of Wills and Letters, vol. 1
Record of Wills and Letters, vol. 2
(Family Search), indexed

Administrative records, vol. A, 1866-1880
Administrative records, vol. B, 1879-1890
Administrative records, vol. C, 1890-1900
(Family Search)

Record of Wills, vol. 1, 1862-1889 and cont.
Record of Wills, vol. 2,
(Family Search)

Back to top