Skip to content

Missouri Genealogy Library and Resources

🏠 » Genealogy » Library

1852 Missouri map, Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division


Territory: 1803–1821
Statehood: 10 Aug 1821
24th state of the United States

Bordering states:
North: Iowa
South: Arkansas
East: Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee
West: Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma

Capital: Jefferson City

Largest city: Kansas City

Map: Missouri, 1852 (click map to enlarge), Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division.

Counties: Original counties as listed in the 1820 Missouri Constitution, Schedule, Sect. 7, p. 31: Cape Girardeau, Cooper, Franklin, Howard, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Montgomery, New Madrid, Pike, St. Charles, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Washington, and Wayne. Missouri County Creation Dates and Parent Counties. Counties in 2020: 114.