Skip to content

Mississippi Genealogy Library and Resources

🏠 » Genealogy » Library

County Resources:

1820 Mississippi map, Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division


Statehood: 10 Dec 1817
20th state of the United States

Bordering states:
North: Tennessee
South: Louisiana
East: Alabama
West: Arkansas, Louisiana

Capital and largest city: Jackson

Map: Mississippi, 1820
(click map to enlarge)
Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division

Back to top

Mississippi Counties: 

Original counties as listed in the 1817 Mississippi Constitution: Article 6, Schedule, Sect. 8: Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Franklin, Greene, Hancock, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marion, Pike, Warren, Wayne, and Wilkinson. Mississippi County Creation Dates and Parent Counties.
Counties in 2020: 82.