Skip to content

Michigan Genealogy Library and Resources

🏠 » Genealogy » Library

1876 Michigan map, Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division


Statehood: 26 Jan 1837
26th state of the United States

Bordering states:
South: Indiana, Ohio

Capital: Lansing

Largest city: Detroit

Map: Michigan, 1876.
(click map to enlarge)
Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division

Counties: Original counties as listed in the 1835 Constitution of Michigan, Article 13, Sect. 12: Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Chippewa, Clinton, Genesee, Hillsdale, Ionia, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent, Lapeer, Lenawee, Macomb, Michilimakinac, Monroe, Oakland, Ottawa, Saganaw, Shiawasse, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Washtenaw, and Wayne. Michigan County Creation Dates and Parent Counties. Counties in 2020: 83.

Back to top