Skip to content

Arkansas Genealogy Library and Resources

🏠 » Genealogy » Library


Territory: Arkansas became a territory in 1819
Statehood: 15 June 1836
25th state of the United States

Bordering states:
North: Missouri
South: Louisiana
East: Tennessee, Mississippi
West: Texas, Oklahoma

Capital and largest city: Little Rock

Map: Arkansas, 1866
(click map to enlarge)
Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division

Record Sets

Arkansas Record Sets (Ancestry Collections)

Arkansas Record Sets (Family Search)

Virtual Libraries

State of Arkansas

Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Northeast Arkansas, 1889.

Biographical and Pictorial History of Arkansas, John Hallum, 1833.

Centennial History of Arkansas, Dallas T. Herndon, 1878.

The History of Arkansas; a Text-book for Public Schools, High Schools, and Academies, Josiah H. Shinn, A. M., 1905.

A History of Southern Missouri and Northern Arkansas, William Monks, 1907.

A Pictorial History of Arkansas, from Earliest Times to the Year 1890, Fay Hemstead, 1890.

A Reminiscent History of the Ozark Region, 1894.

Benton County

Arkansas, Benton County and Siloam Springs, 2nd edition, George R. Chaney, 1905.

Benton County, Arkansas, Kansas City Southern Railway, 1909.

A Rural Survey in Arkansas, Dept. of Church and Country Life, Board of Home Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A., 1913.


Arkansas Maps, University of Arkansas

Arkansas Plat Maps, University of Arkansas

Historical Documents, Maps & More, Arkansas Commissioner of State Lands

Arkansas Maps, Library of Congress

Arkansas Landowner Maps, Library of Congress

Interactive Map of Arkansas County Formation History

Historical Maps Works: Arkansas


Arkansas Manuscripts, Archive Grid

Arkansas Manuscripts, Library of Congress

Back to top

Genealogy record sets


Arkansas birth certificate, 1914-1917,
however some in collection back to late 1890s

Arkansas death certificates, 1914-1969

Back to top

List of Arkansas Counties

Arkansas, Ashley, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff, Yell

Original counties as listed in the 1836 Arkansas Constitution, Article 4, Legislative Department, Sect. 31: Arkansas Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Conway, Crawford, Crittenden, Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Pike, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Sevier, Scott, Searcy, St. Francis, Union, Van Buren, Washington, and White. Arkansas County Creation Dates and Parent Counties. .